MANTA, ECUADOR

During the night, the Zaandam crossed the Equator. We are now in the Southern Hemisphere. In pre-Columbian times Manta was home to the Jocay, an indigenous community distinguished for their maritime accomplishments.

Manta is the tuna fish capital of the world. Both Starkist and Bumblebee have their canning factories in Manta. A single tuna fish can weigh up to 180 lb. Rightly so, you will see statues of tuna here.

Manta is my favorite port for shopping. The ship arranged a shuttle from the port to the Plaza Civica which ran all day for a $7 fee. There is a market in the Plaza Civica which is financially better off after my spree today. I purchased literally dozens of items of alpaca because it is so beautiful and reasonably priced… I will be wearing quite a bit to avoid an overage on the weight at the airport!

After adding to the local economy, Joe and Susan and I walked around town. Stopping at the Museo Ethnographic, we toured the exhibits of artifacts of everyday life in 19th and 20th Century Ecuador. The early settlers were usually either fisherman or cowboys. Following this, we adjourned to a cafe at the plaza to listen to local music and drink beer labeled Pilsner. The vendors quickly arrived… and we added even more to the local economy. All in all, a pleasant day.

Shipboard Life

“I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” Robert Louis Stevenson

Yesterday Joan, Emerald, and I went to the movies to see Man of Steel starring Russel Crowe, Christopher Meloni (of Law & Order), Henry Cavil, and Amy Adams. 2 hours and 28 minutes of action and sighing over Henry’s body.

On sea days, Reverend Larry Selig has been giving lectures on the Holy Land. I learned that the Sea of Galilee was split with the Jews living on the east side and the Gentiles on the west. The series is quite well attended.

The show was the Zaandam singers and dancers in Love Broadway.
I loved the costumes by designer Bob Mackie.

Notes
Judy, Suzanne, and Margaret: Thanks for following my blog. I downloaded Elizabeth George’s new novel to my kindle but read it before I left home!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “MANTA, ECUADOR

  1. Betsy

    Ecuador has been added to my bucket list. Thanks for taking the time to do a blog. Betsy

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.