GWV 2014 — Stuff You Should Take

To Make a Cabin a Home
In this electronic age, it is imperative that you carry an electrical power strip! I keep one plugged in at all times to the only electrical outlet in the cabin. Kindle, iPad, and iPhone can be charged at the same time as I have my curling iron plugged in.

A small electric desk fan circulates the air and makes the cabin more pleasant. I especially like this when one is dressing for dinner. A hanging shoe organizer is wonderful. You don’t have to dig through a pile of shoes at the bottom of the closet. Keep fragrance room spray in the bathroom; I use a small can from Bath and Body Works.

I keep a flashlight on my nightstand. And I carry a small LED light on the lanyard which holds my roomcard. The latter because after the Costa Concordia disaster, my older daughter required that I have a flashlight at all times!

Maps! I am a map maven. The walls of my cabin are festooned with maps of the places we are going. And I mark our progress on them!

To Help with Packing
I use packing cubes from Eagle Creek. I also use the clear plastic zippered cases in which linens are sold. These are wonderful… and so much less expensive than the packing cubes. Zippered storage bags in various sizes come in handy on the voyage. They are handy for medications, cosmetics, wet clothing and swimsuits, photo and electrical equipment, and packing a lunch for a shore excursion.

To Carry with You
A hand fan can make your life much more pleasant in hot climates. An umbrella (sunbrella) is also a plus. Don’t forget hand sanitizer. It is probably your best defense against disease. Carry a small packet oftissues… great to use as toilet paper. I always carry money in small bills in a zip-lock bag. Make sure the bills are new and in very good condition.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “GWV 2014 — Stuff You Should Take

  1. Janis

    I am enjoying your blog, thank you for taking the time. I looked into your segment, HK TO FL, last minute and there was virtually no discount for a solo. Double the pp price.
    I am interested in your packing specifics. Shoes! I, too use the zippered linen bags. Very handy. I heard of a cabin, the whole line, that was flooded when sprinklers went off and everything on top of dressers was ruined. I try never to leave anything out, but tuck it all away. Janis

  2. Patricia

    Some great suggestions here! Yet I am puzzled about how you cram so much into the modest amount of luggage you are taking on this cruise! I find all the “little things” take up so much room.

    Did you get anywhere through your TA with the pricing for this segment? Sad to hear that your price decreased “substantially”!! Hope you were successful.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.